Skip to content

A Little Tongue

July 31, 2011

Why are you laughing?

Seriously, a little tongue goes a long way. And I am not talking about some French kissing…but I am not totally against that(have you seen my husband?? Yowza!) but that’s another blog post. When I say ‘a little tongue’, I mean to bring words to mind. Leaning over to a friend in church….whispering behind hands. Let’s face it: words can hurt. I have been guilty of this. Not gonna lie. And to be honest, I will struggle with it until the good Lord calls me home. Not often enough, I am not reminded of the consequences of even the littlest words. I was recently very directly affected by someone else’s false words. I was very hurt and confused about the reasons why someone would say false things. Then God used my hurt to teach me, which He does so well. When I talk out of turn or say something the “I heard”, people get hurt. True or not, words hurt.

The book of James deals almost entirely with the tongue and it’s damage capacity. James 3:8 tells us “But no man can tame the tongue. It is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.” Well hello positivity!

I am learning. It is tough, especially when others continue to talk. But with God’s provision, the truth will come to the light as God has promised it would!

No comments yet

Leave a comment