Skip to content

Unprepared

August 28, 2011

I went yesterday with my husband to a volleyball tournament. (Oh the places you’ll go.) He hasn’t been coaching volleyball long and this was his and my first tournament. When we arrived, on the lobby of the fantastic gymnasium, were several card tables with lots and lots of snacks: fresh fruits, veggies, cheese, crackers, water, sports drinks, gum, etc. I just thought that teams all had a section that was setup for them. I looked for our team’s spot but never found it. I just figured I could find it later. The day went on and on and on and our girls got hungry. I set out again, looking for their table. All of a sudden it dawned on me: they brought their own. THEY brought tables, snacks, sings,etc., because they knew what to expect. They were all schools from big cities or privste Christian schools who had done thid before. As I investigated further, I noticed almost all parents had cushy seats with them, pulled large coolers behind them, and carried large bags with pillows and blankets. They were prepared for the full day of tournament play where their daugters might get hungry or tired and have to wait awhile to play.

As I sit and think about how hungry our girls got (they ate from the concession stand until we left) and how tired they were (have you ever laid on a bleacher?) as well as how sore my butt is (from 8 hrs straight), I realize how important being prepared really is. And not just in volleyball.

As Christians, we have the Bible as written instructions on how we should live, how to act, how to treat others, and how to receive Christ. As we walk, we can refer to this book, lookig for answers to questions. When we see others who are new in their Christian walk, I can only imagine how unprepared they must be for things that arise against them. Unbelievers, failures, sickness…they are unprepared when God’s answer isn’t yes. As mature Christians, we should prepare others for these times. Warn them that people will not understand. People will die. Marriages will fail. Every answer will not be yes. Show them in the Bible where it says that God will never leave them. That God will protect them. How He loves them and wants them to spend eternity with Him in the home He built for them. Think about it: they may not already know!

No comments yet

Leave a comment